Home School School Board Selects Architectural Firm

School Board Selects Architectural Firm


The Morgan County School Board has selected the architectural firm of Design West for the design of the P.E./Activities Center and the bus facility. Morgan resident and Design West Production Manager Darrell Erickson represented the company at the November 9 meeting. Design West ‘s bid for the two projects came in at $110,500. Four firms were under consideration with bids ranging from $190,400 to $110,500. The designing phase of the P.E./Activities Center will begin immediately. Work on the bus facility will take more time. The Board is still considering at least two site options for the project. The two parcels of land under consideration are the 7 acres east of Morgan Elementary School which are presently owned by the district and 3 to 9 acres across the Weber River and east of Young Street that are for sale. The Board will conduct a special session on November 22, at 4:00 P.M. at the district office to consider final approval of the site for the bus garage. The two projects are estimated to cost between $3.7 and $4 million. Funding for the facilities is coming from a low-interest stimulus bond. Under the requirements of the bond the district will be able to invest and make payments over an 18 -19 year schedule. According to District Business Administrator D ‘Lynn Poll the payback, because of investment strategies, will actually be less than the bond itself. In other business the Board approved travel requests for the high school band, boys ‘ tennis team, girls ‘ soccer team, and the cheerleaders. Athletic Director Renn Hoopes apprised the Board of upcoming changes in classifications and alignment. Beginning next year there will be 28 schools in 3A with four regions of seven teams. Morgan will know by early next week to which region they will be assigned. Because of the alignment changes, the district needed to adopt a calendar for next year. This will allow fall sports teams to begin the process of building playing schedules. The 2011-12 school year for students will begin on Tuesday, August 23 and end on Thursday, May 24. Graduation will be held on Friday, May 25. Fall break will occur on October 20 and 21 to coincide with the UEA Convention. Morgan Education Foundation Chairman Kelly Wright reported to the group on the success of the recent auction. The Foundation earned more than $18,000 at the event. We want to publicly express our appreciation to the community for their support, remarked Wright, the people of the valley are truly amazing.  Wright also thanked the committee members in charge of the auction. They included: Diana Olsen, Becky Weeks, Jody Hipwell, Melanie Moore, Cindy Jensen, Kara Nelson, Franci Archibald, Jana Brown, Kimi Jensen, Scott Duncan, John Masson, and D ‘Lynn Poll. The Morgan Education Foundation is committed to serving the students of the district by providing funds and resources in order to enhance student educational opportunities. Special Education Directors Destiny Field and Steve Wood joined parent representatives Jolene Kearsley and Tina Cannon in reporting goals and progress of the department. High school counselors Jim Wiscombe and Domini Olson updated the group in the comprehensive guidance plan for the high school. I really appreciate the assistance the counseling department provides for students,  said Student Board Member Jackson Lake, they do a great job of helping prepare us for college registration and scholarship opportunities. 

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here