Home School Sterling Scholar Recognition Banquet

Sterling Scholar Recognition Banquet


By Cheryl Ovard Summit County New Editor Plant Manager Keith Krugh, was honored to present a Certificate of Recognition and gift to each of the Sterling Scholars for 2011, seniors who have excelled in many categories available in their high school on behalf of Holcim, (US), Inc. Holcim is a cement plant located in Devil’s Slide. This is the 6th year that Holcim of Devil’s Slide has sponsored this special event – honoring the Senior Sterling Scholars from both neighboring schools: North Summit High School and Morgan High School. The Cement Plant in Devil’s Slide is part of a Swiss parent company – Holcim. Krugh stated that, …Holcim believes that they need to be a good neighbor and be active in the community – continuing to …help make a difference where we can! Sometimes it has been to give a cement contract to build a school, which has been done recently. He stated that Holcim is pleased to continue and participate with this Recognition Banquet for the Sterling Scholars of both schools. …There has be a balance with academic pursuits, mental pursuits, and physical pursuits… in order to have a successful life. Too infrequently do we honor people who have been like you young people who have gone beyond the academic pursuits – the kinds of projects in all the fields of study are appreciated – and for all the hard work you have done. The event was held at the Chicken Inn in Morgan. Parents and students, as well as special guests, school counselors and principals were in attendance. This year’s program included a special invitational speaker, Allison Hess, who is Director, Public Relations, Weber State University. She was a professor for 18 years in the field of communication at WSU, and also advised the student newspaper, The Signpost. She was president of Utah Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, and wrote a monthly column for the Standard-Examiner. In her presentation she advised the Sterling Scholars to …set yourself apart…get ahead now…set goals now! Remember to go to your college classes – be there on time, turn in your assignments, and be quick in finding a major so that you do not waste time in classes you will not need to graduate! This will help decrease the costs, and help you move towards your goal with the least amount of credit hours – so as not to become a perpetual student! Moving around, she said, only makes the time longer before reaching your graduation goal! The student and parents were both pleased and grateful that Holcim was kind enough to honor these students. Some of the students, once the competition is over, will not even be mentioned again for their accomplishments and all their hard work that went into creating their ÷Sterling Scholar Books’. The competition will be held this year on the evening of April 19th at the North Summit High School in Coalville. Each student was announced by their respective principals, Jerre Holmes of North Summit High School and Wade Murdock of Morgan High School. The program and dinner which was organized by Holcim’s Kevin Ovard, was enjoyed by all. Following the dinner, Principals Wade Murdock of Morgan High School and Jerre Holmes of North Summit High School, presented a plaque and book entitled The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho as a token of remembrance of the evening on behalf of Holcim to each student. (Sterling Scholar Students are: Morgan High School: Chelsea Fairbourn, English; Joshua C. Mines, Mathematics; Morgan Ferrell, Social Science; Samuel Steven Abplanalp, Science; Melissa Marsden, Foreign Language, Rebekah Elton, Computer Technology; Ethan Porter, Trade and Technical; Rebecca Sue Rees, Family and Consumer Science; Matt Dicou, Business and Marketing; Emmalee Barajas, Speech and Drama; Taylor Weitzeil, Visual Arts; Blake Midgley, Music; Nikkelle Green, Dance; Sawyer Brooks, General; Advisors: Linda Morrison and Carol Pentz. North Summit High School: Kayla Hicks, English; Alexandria Birk, Mathematics; David Haws, Social Science; Timothy Espell, Science; Nathanael Rothchild, Computer Technology; Joshua Ovard, Trade and Technical; Spencer Stevens, Speech and Drama; Whitley Dixon, Visual Arts; Makay Stephens, Music; Taylor Lewis, Dance, Jenalyn Thiriot, General; Advisor – Rhonda Butcher.

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here