Home School Morgan FFA honors chapter members

Morgan FFA honors chapter members


Wednesday, May 9, the Morgan FFA Chapter held its annual banquet where we honored many students for their outstanding accomplishments. We believe that congratulations are in order for all those who gained their Greenhand, Chapter, State, and American degree. Greenhand: Alex Eddington, Kennedy Gibson, Hanna Giles, Chase Grandpre, McKenna Hales, Annie Hodges, Linsday Mahan, Kailyn Nelson, Mariah Remund, Taylor Sherburn, Miranda Smith, Ty Stephens, and Taisha Vollmer. Chapter: Bryce Preece, Jessica Carter, Tabatha Carter, Isaac Cannon, Jake Cannon, Jessica Larsen, Marissa Morgan, Courtney Sanders, and Tyson Spens. State: Christina Andersen, Nate Buchanan, Garrett Eddington, Shawn Francis, and Megan Stapley. American: Ethan Porter. We would also like to honor Hanna Giles and Luke Larsen for being selected as our Star Greenhands. The Utah Council of Farmer Cooperatives conducts the annual FFA Co-op Quiz and this year, our contestants were Shawn Francis, Chase Grandpre, and Sara Clark. Invited by the Snow College Badger Ag Club, all FFA chapters are able to compete in the Snow College FFA Field Day, and this year, our Agronomy team placed in the gold division and our Range team placed in the bronze division. Of our Chapter speaking contests, McKenna Hales won Creed and Bryan Chappell with Kyle Stapley won Extemporaneous; all of which were to move on to Area contests. At Area, McKenna Hales came out with a first Place in Creed, Shawn Francis competed in Specialty Animal Production Proficiency, and our Parliamentary Procedures team took First. In Tooele, Utah, the Deseret Peak Judging contest took place and our Agriculture Sales team, made up of Jake Cannon, Ethan Richards, Megan Stapley, Luke Larsen, and Katie Spens, took Second Place. Jason Flinders placed Second high individual in the Meat Evaluation contest. At State Convention, held this year in Richfield, Utah, Megan Stapley competed for Job Interview, McKenna Hales for Creed Speaking, and our Parliamentary Procedures team took Fifth with Isaac Cannon, Jake Cannon, Jessica Carter, Jessica Larsen, Luke Larsen, Christina Andersen, and Miranda Smith. Coleman Richards, Ethan Richards, and Jake Cannon did a great job in performing their talent. This April, our chapter was able to compete at State CDE’s. the results are as follows: Floriculture made Fourth with Tabatha Carter, Christina Andersen, Olivia Carter, and Paysha Lloyd; Food Science also took Fourth with Courtney Sanders, Shawn Francis, Bryan Chappell, and Katie Spens; Poultry took Tenth with Jessica Carter, Annie Hodges, Naomi Matthews, and Chase Grandpre; Farm Business got Silver with Suzi Curtis, Jessica Carter, Chase Grandpre, and Megan Stapley; Meat Evaluation also gained Silver with Luke Larsen, Jason Flinders, Nate Buchanan, and Isaac Cannon; Ag Sales made First at State with Katie Spens, Luke Larsen (Second High), Megan Stapley, and Jake Cannon (Third High); Livestock made Silver with Sydnee Wixom, Garrett Eddington, Alex Eddington, and Marissa Morgan; Dairy Cattle got Bronze with Parker Bullock, Chase Grandpre, and Tabatha Carter. Great job everyone! This last year, we have had two teams win at State Contests who then went on to represent Utah at National Convention. Our Dairy Foods team, coached by Blaine Fackrell, won Eleventh in the nation with Courtney Sanders (Gold individual ranking), Kiley Matthews (Gold individual ranking), Shantel Watkins (Silver individual ranking), and Naomi Matthews (Bronze individual ranking). The Farm Business Team earned a Silver ranking; their coach was Ray Little and their team consisted of Shawn Francis (Silver Pin), Bryan Chappell (Silver Pin), Sara Clark (Silver), and Marissa Morgan (Bronze Pin). We started the PALS program which is a partnering of high school FFA members with elementary students. We want to thank all participating members and the elementary school for their support and involvement. Miss Haslam, as was informed during the banquet, has at long last received a $5,000 grant for a teaching greenhouse here at the high school! The banquet ended with an emotional installation of our new Chapter Officers. After weeks of suspense, we were given our new officers. Our new officers and their positions are as follows: Courtney Sanders as Historian-elect, Isaac Cannon as Sentinel-elect, Miranda Smith as Reporter-elect, Chase Grandpre as Treasurer-elect, Jessica Carter as Secretary-elect, Katie Spens and Tabatha Carter as Vice President-elect, and Bryan Chappell as President-elect. Good luck to all the new officers! The FFA as a whole would like to thank all of our sponsors, we really appreciate you: First Bank of Morgan, Barber Brothers, Bingham’s Custom Meats, Dee’s Dairy, Graceland, Haslam Excavating, Leslie Hurst, Mike and Dana Morgan, Morgan County Drug, Morgan County News, Morgan Valley Polaris, Newton Llama and Sheep Farm, Ron’s Fix-it Shop, Shawn Francis, Spens Construction, and York Engineering. Also, from the new officers to the old: you have set high goals and left large shoes for us to fulfill. We appreciate what you have done for all FFA members. And, last but not least, thank you to Miss Megan Haslam for all you do for us. There are no words to describe just how appreciative of you we are, even if we don’t always show it.

Please follow and like us:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here