Home Featured with Text Begin filing for school board seats; Six local elected seats on 2016...

Begin filing for school board seats; Six local elected seats on 2016 ballot


For some, a new year will bring a new opportunity to file for elected office.
Those interested in serving on the Morgan County School Board can begin filing Monday, Jan. 4. They will have until March 17 to file for one of three school board seats available. Each seat will be on the November 2016 ballot for a four-year position.
Chairman Ken Durrant currently represents District 3 (Stoddard, Littleton, Richville, Porterville, Hardscrabble and South Morgan Valley Drive). Board Member Neil Carrigan currently represents District 5 (North Morgan, east side of Morgan City, Round Valley, Taggart’s and Croydon). Board Member Ron Blunck currently represents District 1 (Mountain Green including the Highlands, Whisper Ridge, Trappers, Rollins Ranch and Bradshaw subdivision.
Recent changes made to precinct boundaries will not change the districts on the 2016 ballot, Morgan County Councilman Ned Mecham said.
Other local positions coming open include four-year terms on the Morgan County Council in District 3, District 4 and one at-large position. Robert Kilmer, Daryl Ballantyne and Chairman Logan Wilde currently fill those seats, respectively. Candidates for those three council seats can begin filing on Friday, March 11, through Thursday, March 17, 2016.

Please follow and like us: