Home Featured with Text No applicants yet for school board seats

No applicants yet for school board seats


Six local elected seats on 2016 ballot

It’s been one month, and so far, no takers.
Those interested in serving on the Morgan County School Board could have begun filing for the election Jan. 4.  While the Morgan County clerk’s office has yet to see one applicant, candidates have until March 17 to file for one of three school board seats available.  Each seat will be on the November 2016 ballot for a four-year position.
Chairman Ken Durrant currently represents District 3 (Stoddard, Littleton, Richville, Porterville, Hardscrabble and South Morgan Valley Drive).  Board Member Neil Carrigan currently represents District 5 (North Morgan, east side of Morgan City, Round Valley, Taggart’s and Croydon).  Board Member Ron Blunck currently represents District 1 (Mountain Green including the Highlands, Whisper Ridge, Trappers, Rollins Ranch and Bradshaw subdivision).
Other local positions coming open include four-year terms on the Morgan County Council in District 3, District 4 and one at-large position.  Robert Kilmer, Daryl Ballantyne and Chairman Logan Wilde currently fill those seats, respectively.  District 4 includes portions of Morgan City.  Candidates for those three council seats can begin filing on Friday, March 11, through Thursday, March 17, 2016.

Please follow and like us: