Home Features Community Morgan resident recognized as Modern Pioneer of the Year

Morgan resident recognized as Modern Pioneer of the Year


Morgan resident Val Carter was recognized as the Morgan Chapter of the Sons of Utah Pioneers Modern Pioneer of the Year.  The award was presented to Mr. Carter at the annual Sons of Utah Pioneer Christmas Party. 

Carter was recognized for his many years of service to the community as well as his service that blessed both North and South America.  Among other things, he has served as a mission president and as a Mission Training Center president in Brazil.  Carter has also served as a temple worker for many years, and now due to poor mobility, he has turned to indexing, where he has submitted over 100,000 names.  His untiring service is truly worthy of this prestigious award.

Bob Poll also recited a poem called “Christmas Eve on the Desert.”  It is about the man I was, the man I am now, and the man Heavenly Father looks down on and knows is my future self.

Dennis Barker entertained us with his talents on the violin.  He has years of experience, which was evident during his program.  He was concertmaster while attending Weber High School, and has played in many orchestras over the years.  Barker played several Christmas selections and closed his performance with his favorite non-Christmas hymn: God Be With You.

Dave Jacobs, national regional vice president, swore in the new officers for the Morgan Chapter of the Sons of Utah Pioneers.  National President Jim Hurst was also in attendance. 

The 2017 officers are:  Alan Turner, president; Brent Rasmussen, president elect; Ken Hicks, vice president; Alan Medaris, past president; Russ Stebar, executive secretary; Stephen Dickson, treasurer; Paul Dickson, membership; Forrest Terrell, Pioneer of the Month; Gerald Betournay, treks, tours and conventions; Lee Nelson, pioneer heritage, scholarships and essays, and newsletter (temporarily); Calvin Stephens, programs; Randy Bell, monuments; Van Nelson, publicity/news; Bill Warner, historian; Tom Guffey, directory; Richard Wiscombe, fund raising; and Mark Francis, recognition program.

Please follow and like us: