Home Business USDA Designates Eight Counties in Utah as Primary Natural Disaster Areas with...

USDA Designates Eight Counties in Utah as Primary Natural Disaster Areas with Assistance to Producers in Nevada


WASHINGTON, May 1, 2018 — The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated eight counties in Utah as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought. Those counties are:

Carbon, Garfield, Millard, Utah, Emery, Juab, Sanpete , Wasatch

Farmers and ranchers in the following contiguous counties in Utah also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are:

Beaver. Kane, San Juan, Tooele, Duchesne, Piute, Sevier, Uintah, Grand, Salt Lake, Summit, Wayne, Iron

Farmers and ranchers in the contiguous counties of Lincoln and White Pine in Nevada also qualify for natural disaster assistance.

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency’s (FSA’s) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration of April 26, 2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

Please follow and like us: